Jul1

Introduction to me and my history with Pokémon.

I am a PhD student who studies genetics, with a focus on evolutionary and conservation genomics. I am also an advocate for animals (both wild and domestic) and the environment. During leisure time, I enjoy (among other activities) engaging with my favorite fictional stories, including Pokémon.

Pokémon has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I started off collecting the trading cards, playing with the toys, watching the anime (including movies), and playing Pokémon Stadium 2. It is a franchise that me and my younger sister always enjoyed together growing up, and that continues to this day.

My first mainline Pokémon game was Ruby. I had so much fun catching, nicknaming, and training my very own team of Pokémon for the first time. I replayed Ruby and its upgraded version Emerald so many times that I lost track of the number. As each new generation and set of games were released, me and my sister would get the alternative versions of each (a tradition that started with Ruby/Sapphire), of which we decided together on who gets what. In addition to Ruby, the versions that I got and played were Fire Red, Diamond, Soul Silver, White, Black 2, X, Alpha Sapphire, Sun, Ultra Moon, Let's Go Eevee, Shield, Shining Pearl, and Scarlet. I highly enjoyed every single one of them, and I always look forward to the upcoming games.